A to Z World Travel
Provides travel information for world cities. Includes travel guides and resources. Don't take your trip until you've looked at the resources found here. Provided by JBPL with funds provided by the Cape Cod Foundation.
From Anywhere
Academic OneFile
Agriculture Collection (NEW)
With broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of this growing body of knowledge. Comprised of hundreds of journals and magazines, researchers will have access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture. Funded by MBLC & MLS.
From Anywhere
Ancestry Library Edition
Annals of American History (NEW)
Explore the rich and varied history of the United States through speeches, historical accounts, memoirs, poems, images and multimedia. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
From Anywhere
Book Index With Reviews / BIR Entertainment
Books and Authors
Business Economics and Theory (NEW)
With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, users will find hundreds of full-text journals to support their research. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
From Anywhere
Business Insights: Essentials (NEW)
- extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection
- easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports
- industry rankings, profiles, market share data, company histories, and more
CLAMS Catalog
Communications and Mass Media Collection (NEW)
From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in
linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information in
full-text from journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key
subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and
writing, linguistics, and many more. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
From Anywhere
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
Criminal Justice Collection (NEW)
Culinary Arts Collection (NEW)
The Culinary Arts collection includes major cooking and nutrition magazines, culinary journals and several Delmar Reference titles. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information. Provided by MBLC.
Diversity Studies Collection (NEW)
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 150 journals. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
Educator's Reference Complete
Encyclopaedia Britannica - Public Library Edition (NEW)
Complete online Encyclopaedia Britannica - including dictionary, yearly annuals, quotations, world data information and so much more. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
From Anywhere
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection (NEW)
ERIC
ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
Connect Here
Expanded Academic ASAP
Fine Arts and Music collection (NEW)
With hundreds of full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such
as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide your students
with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history,
and film making. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
FREEGAL Music
Access to songs from Sony Music's catalog of artists. You will need
your Bourne Library card to access. There is a limit of 3 downloads a
person per week. Click on the Freegal icon to learn more about and to
begin using this great new service. Funding made possible by the Cape
Cod Foundation.(Back To Top)
Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection (NEW)
Farmers, landscape architects, and biotechnologists alike will have their information appetites sated with this collection of journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. A fertile and growing collection, this collection includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies. Funded by MLS.
Gender Studies Collection (NEW)
This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
General Business File ASAP
General Reference Center Gold
General Science Collection (NEW)
A collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
Global Issues In Context
Global Road Warrior
Database provides complete information on the nations of the world. Includes customs, food, economies and so much more. Provided by JBPL with funding from the Cape Cod Foundation.
From Anywhere
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Connect here
Health Reference Center Academic
Home Improvement Collection (NEW)
Even the smallest home improvement project can be daunting: with this
collection of home improvement focused titles, hobbyists and professional
carpenters alike will immediately put their projects on a more solid foundation.
Coverage includes such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material
selection, zoning requirements, and many more. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection (NEW)
With current and relevant content from industry journals, travel guides and magazines this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more. Provided by MBLC.
Info -Trac Student Edition
Information Science and Library Issues Collection (NEW)
This collection, comprised of content from more than 100 leading industry journals, provides current and accurate information for this fast-moving field. Information professionals and other knowledge workers � from the research specialist to the information architect � will find appropriate and useful information in their areas of expertise, including such topics as information infrastructure, data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
Insurance and Liability Collection (NEW)
Protection of assets is a concern for all: from the individual property owner to the multinational corporation, all have a vested interest in ensuring the retention of their assets, be it physical or intellectual. This collection, of journals, takes a broad view of this multimillion dollar industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
From Anywhere
Literature Resource Center
Online language - learning system that can help you learn a language at your own pace. Available courses include Spanish, Italian, German, French, Brazilian Portuguese and ESL Brazilian Portuguese. Bourne library card needed for access outside of the library. Provided by JBPL with funding made possible by the Cape Cod Foundation.Massachusetts History Online
Medline Plus (National Library of Medicine Consumer Health)
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
Military and Intelligence Database Collection (NEW)
Both the historian and reporter on the frontline will find useful information in this collection, composed of content from over 400 journals, which covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects covered include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
MORNINGSTAR INVESTMENT RESEARCH CENTER
Morningstar Mutual Funds will discontinue its print service effective December 2012. The Library is now subscribing to its replacement, Morningstar Investment Research Center. This expanded collection offers real-time data, fund and stock analysis and portfolio tools. Only one patron can access this trial at a time so please remember to sign off when you are finished.
Click here for instructions on reading and printing individual reports
Nursing and Allied Health Health Collection (NEW)
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health
care administration -- are covered. This collection's current and authoritative
content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as
well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.Funded by MBLC.
Nursing Resource Center (NEW)
Articles from a variety of magazines, plus excerpts from reference books. Material includes a medical dictionary, medical directories, health periodicals, and pamphlets from leading health organizations. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
From Anywhere
Overdrive - Downloadable Audio and E-Book Materials
E-books, Audio books, music and more are available to download to your own computer or player. Provided by JBPL.Pop culture Collection (NEW)
It's all around us and influences our lives every day. This collection
provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art
or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of more than 100
subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
Popular Magazines (NEW)
Popular Magazines includes more than 1,000 of the most searched magazines across our InfoTrac products. All the titles were selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons. This database is 100% full text and includes over 600 titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries". Funded by MBLC and MLS.
Psychology Collection (NEW)
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the
mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time.
Researchers will have access to hundreds of subject-appropriate full-text
periodicals - many cited in the PsycINFO index. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
Religion and Philosophy Collection (NEW)
Why do some people believe in Heaven? Is it fear, hope, upbringing or blind faith? Users of this collection can research different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
Salem Press Health
Remote access to the following Salem Press Health materials:
Magill's Medical Guide
Cancer Encyclopedia
You will need your Bourne Library card to access the databases. Provided by JBPL
In Library From Home
Salem Press History
Online access to the following Salem Press materials
Milestone Documents in American History
Milestone Documents in American Leaders
Milestone Documents in World History
The Decades - 1950s, 1960s, 1970s, 1980s, 1990s
Great Lives From History - the 20th Century
Great Events From History - 17th Century, 18th Century, 19th Century
You will need your Bourne Library Card to access. Funding provided by JBPL
In Library From Home
Science In Context
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of todays' most significant science topics. Funded by MLS.
Small Business Collection (NEW)
Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides
insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find hundreds of full
text subject-appropriate periodicals. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
U. S. History Collection (NEW)
As any historian will state, the study of history is as much about the present as the past: to that end, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
Universal Class
Online education classes available to library users with over 540 courses offered. CEU's available for some classes. Classes range from fitness to computers and technology, job assistance, law and legal to crafts and hobbies. Engaging video based lessons with real instructors guiding the learning. Must have a Bourne Library card to access. Provided by JBPL.From Anywhere
BACK TO TOP
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Provided by MBLC.
Vocations and Careers Collection (NEW)
Finding the right career can be a daunting and high stakes task: finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones. Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
War & Terrorism Collection (NEW)
A definitive periodical collection of hand selected titles for analysts, risk
management professionals and students of military science, history, social
science. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
All ages
World Data Analyst (NEW)
Information and comparisons of the nations of the World. Includes statistics, comparisons and other information. Funded by MBLC and MLS
From Anywhere
World History Collection (NEW)
As any historian will state, the study of history is as much about the present as the past: to that end, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
World History in Context
FOR KIDS
Britannica Learning Zone (NEW)
Young children will enjoy playing games, drawing, reading and exploring in this fun learning database. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
From Anywhere
Encyclopaedia Britannica - Kids Edition (NEW)
Complete information from Encyclopaedia Britannica geared towards children. Funded by MBLC and MLS.
From Anywhere
Info Trac K-12 Junior Edition
Kids InfoBits
NoveList Plus K-8
Tumblebooks
Tumblebooks are animated e-books for young readers. Database also includes games, puzzles and language skills, and read along stories. Provided by JBPL.NEWSPAPERS
America's News
Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more with the largest collection of full-text U.S. newspapers. Includes staff written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate and other sections. Includes the Boston Herald from 1991 and many other regional Massachusetts newspapers such as The Worcester Telegram and Springfield Republican. Provided by JBPL.
From Anywhere
Boston Globe
Bourne Courier
Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of Bourne Courier. Content from 3/24/2009 - Current. Provided by JBPL.
From Anywhere
Cape Cod Times
New York Times

